Skip to content

Portals

29/08/2012

Usually I decide pretty quickly whether an image should be presented in colour or black & white.  This time I couldn’t decide, so I’ve taken the easy otion and posted both!  I like the fairly muted tones in the colour version, especially the sort of pastel blue of the gate.  But my photography (among other things) about structure, shape, pattern – and the black & white version (converted in SEP2 with further levels adjustment in Elements 10) brings this out better…..

17 Comments leave one →
  1. 29/08/2012 5:03 pm

    It’s very hard to choose between the two. The blue in the first image is very appealing but I’m not sure. I’m therefore going to sit on the fence!

  2. 29/08/2012 5:03 pm

    Just looked again. I think I prefer the colour version for its depth.

    • 31/08/2012 9:21 pm

      Thank you Meanderer – it does appear to have more depth. I think the images jusy have different qualities – more depth, and the nice pastel blue in the colour version, but more detail and texture in the b & w….

  3. 29/08/2012 7:47 pm

    Well I agree it’s hard to choose between the two! I do like the depth of the first one, but I like the B&W one. The colour one seems to have more of a shadow, so more of the features stand out in the B&W version 🙂

    • 31/08/2012 9:16 pm

      Thanks helen. Most people seem to agree that the black & white image works better. Still, I may try Adrian’s suggestion of re-colouring the blue gate in an other wise black & white image.

  4. 29/08/2012 9:04 pm

    Reblogged this on The Legion of Door Whores.

    • 31/08/2012 9:15 pm

      Adrian, thank you! I’m delighted. The ‘Legion..’ blog is great, I’ve enjoyed many of the images very much indeed.

  5. 29/08/2012 9:10 pm

    I prefer the monochrome version, the texture of the door comes out better.

  6. 30/08/2012 12:26 am

    Black&white version the structures of the wooden door and the ston wall look better.

    • 31/08/2012 9:12 pm

      Thank you Pavlos – I agree that the wooden surface is stronger in this version.

  7. 30/08/2012 5:01 am

    Yeah, I too prefer the monochrome version, the textures of the stonework and wood look stronger and the gate colour does not confuse the eye.

    Regards

    Mark

  8. 31/08/2012 5:28 pm

    Hi Graham! – I see exactly what you’re talking about here and I think both images have something to give in their own way – and I like that pastel blue too.

    I would in any case give the mono image more contrast and structure to really bring out all the textures etc there. But then, also, what about trying a mono version, maybe high contrast etc, maybe not – and with the pastel blue shown too, ie re-coloured in SEP2? Any good? Adrian

    • 31/08/2012 9:09 pm

      Thanks Adrian – the idea of re-colouring the blue gate in a bw image is good. I have tried this in SEP2 but without much success – I need practice to master the technique. Not sure I will come up with a result good enough to post, but I’ll give it a go.

  9. 03/09/2012 12:30 am

    Both versions are fine, but like many above my favorite is the b&w version because of the “clean” focus on the structures in the materials.

    • 03/09/2012 8:27 am

      Thanks Truels. I think I’m convinced – an overwhelming majority in favour of the b&w version. Although I will try Adrian’s suggestion of re-colouring the blue outer gate.

Leave a Reply

