Skip to content

Wood store

24/04/2012

Another example of my ‘Teach Yourself SEP2’ project!  Used a pre-set in SEP and added noise and more sepia tone in Photoshop.  I will become more adventurous with this once I feel I have mastered the basics.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. 26/04/2012 8:14 pm

    What is SEP? I’ve not heard of that one (I don’t think!). I’ve really enjoyed learning how to edit photos and create presets though it was a bit time consuming…but also totally worth it! I’m a bit addicted at the moment. I enlarged this photo and you can really see the noise effect more clearly. It makes a nice effect 🙂

    • 26/04/2012 11:18 pm

      Thanks Helen – SEP is Silver Efex Pro by Nik Software, it’s black & white imaging software suite,it operates as an add-in within Photoshop. I heard of it from Adrian Lewis (really interesting blog called FATman photos) and although it’s early days I love it! Thanks for the info about enlarging the shot, it does work better.

    • 27/04/2012 8:52 pm

      Just re-read your comment and realised that your claim not to have heard of SEP was ironic and I didn’t notice. Duh!!!! In my defence it was late and I had just finished a 12-hour shift at work and was not at my best. Also I am not as young as I was and my powers of concentration sometimes desert me…. I promise to pay more attention in future.

  2. 27/04/2012 9:11 pm

    Ha! I genuinely hadn’t heard of it! Funny 🙂 It has been a long week all round I think!

    • 27/04/2012 9:22 pm

      Oh sod it. I give up. I’m confused now…… And I’m going to use the same excuse – just finished a long day at work and I’m even older than I was yesterday. And working 8am to 8pm tomorrow and Sunday *sighs pathetically*…

  3. 29/04/2012 7:38 pm

    This is good, Graham – glad to hear that you’ve got SEP2! Any questions, I’ll try to answer them. Its probably best to look through the presets, see roughly what you’re after, and then fine tune the effects with the controls on the right.

    >>>Do download the second set of presets that are available from Nik – there are excellent effects there, and it just about doubles your number of presets.

    Don’t worry if SEP2 runs slowly on your PC. I gather this is pretty general, especially after you click ‘OK’ to create the finished product. Adrian

    • 02/05/2012 2:28 pm

      Thank you Adrian – I’m enjoying experimenting with SEP 2 – learning it using my usual matheod of trial and error. I’m pretty much doing as you suggest: use a preset and then fine tune.

  4. 01/05/2012 6:07 am

    Sepia tones suit this image nicely.

  5. 01/05/2012 9:47 pm

    Good work… I like the colouring of this as well.

Leave a Reply

