Skip to content

Tree in fog

16/03/2012

I haven’t quite cracked how to take good photographs in foggy conditions – to be honest, I’m not sure what I’m doing!  So – back to the trusted method of trial and error!  Any hints welcome…

8 Comments leave one →
  1. 16/03/2012 2:51 pm

    Nice job 🙂

  2. 16/03/2012 8:36 pm

    I like it. Maybe a larger aperture for a shallower dof? Would blur the background a bit more and make the tree seem more solitary.

    • 16/03/2012 9:00 pm

      Thank you for the constructive comments – exactly what I was hoping for! Completely agree about blurring the background more – I need to work more on my Photoshop skills (self-taught in a fairly haphazard trial-and-error way).

  3. 17/03/2012 5:37 am

    Lovely composition. (I’m also self-taught. Photoshop is a challenge.)

    • 17/03/2012 9:17 pm

      Thanks Kala. You’re right about Photoshop – but I will crack it (in time!)

  4. 21/03/2012 7:02 pm

    This is great Graham! Are you still “point-and-shooting” it or have you upgraded to a DSLR?

    If you have upgraded, I suggest shooting in RAW so the things such as white balance and contrast can be decided on by you as opposed to the camera deciding what’s best.

    If you have not, try dodging and burning. Aloha Lavina put out a great tutorial on a very simple way to do this and after learning it, my processing skill has dramatically increased.

    • 21/03/2012 8:10 pm

      Thank you Mike – still no DSLR I’m afraid. My ‘bridge’ camera offers some flexibilty but not RAW. I’ll look into dodge & burn – thanks for the idea.

Leave a Reply

