Skip to content

Landscape – alternate takes

19/02/2012

 

One of the things I value greatly in this blog is the feedback I receive from photographers I respect.  I posted ‘Landscape’ on 2nd February and among others, Mike and Adrian commented.  Mike suggested he would like to see an uncropped version and Adrian suggested a tighter crop and a high contrast mono treatment.  So … I’ve done both.  (Although to be honest the first shot here isn’t actually the original shot uncropped, it’s a wider shot of the same scene – but it better illustrates the contrast between the different approaches to the same scene.)

Any views welcome…..

 

7 Comments leave one →
  1. 19/02/2012 8:36 am

    Is not easy to photograph crops , you are doing this great …Thank you.. God bless ya

  2. 19/02/2012 11:02 am

    For whatever it’s worth, the closely cropped monochrome is my favourite out of the three. I think the narrow frame (is that what you call it?) makes it very unusual, as does the contrast. Now I would be curious about the colour version of this one … colour would possibly help people understand that this is a landscape. Which one might or might not intend!
    I hope this makes sense – writing about pictures, I often struggle with words.

    • 20/02/2012 7:50 am

      Thank you for the comment, Tobias. I think I was going for two contrasting images – cropped / uncropped, colour / monochrome.

  3. 24/02/2012 5:10 pm

    Well I’m biased, Graham, because I am Adrian!!! >>> but I think that tighter crop and mono treatment have produced a very powerful and quite near abstract image – love it! For me, there are too many distracting elements in the bigger crop. Great photography! Adrian

    • 28/02/2012 10:01 am

      Yes, my inclination tends to be to crop and crop again – however the bigger crop was better than I thought. I may simplify it by converting to a high contrast black & white version and see how that looks…

Leave a Reply

