Skip to content

Landscape

02/02/2012

 

I took this shot a few weeks ago and didn’t like it.  I have cropped it a little, adjusted levels and increased contrast quite a bit.  I like the way the lines and contours flow in different directions.  I considered a tighter crop, maybe removing the grass in the foreground and the small part of the field in the top left hand corner.  But I think these add something to the composition – it looked relatively flat without them. Trial and error…..

8 Comments leave one →
  1. 03/02/2012 6:07 pm

    Excellent picture, Graham – I see what you mean about cropping out the foreground grass, I thought just the same thing >>> what about both crops you mention, and then whisking the remainder into high contrast mono??? Adrian

    • 03/02/2012 6:11 pm

      Thanks Adrian – maybe that would work – I’ll have a play with Photoshop…

  2. 05/02/2012 2:34 pm

    I think it works as is – the contrast between the rolling fields and flat grass really adds to the image.

    • 05/02/2012 5:56 pm

      Thank you Lynn. I have made a tighter crop and I like it – two very different images that work in different ways.

  3. 05/02/2012 4:52 pm

    Yeah – me too, it’s a great image – the lines of the field and the contrast to the foreground works fine!

  4. 06/02/2012 2:06 pm

    I know you are very into abstract images Graham but as a landscape photographer, I would love to see the original that you don’t like. If you’re anything like me, you are your own worst critic. I think you might find that it gets a positive response.

    • 06/02/2012 9:08 pm

      Thanks Mike. I don’t have lot of confidence in the original shot. However, I was thinking of posting a tighter crop of the image as Adrian suggested; I may also put up an uncropped / lightly cropped version for comparison. Thanks for the input.

Leave a Reply

