Skip to content

Three trees, two versions

18/01/2012

I took this shot late in the afternoon, when the sky had a slightly pink hue; I’ve increased the colour saturation a little to enhance this.  But the main reason I like to photograph trees in winter is that I am drawn to the structure and the shapes of the branches in particular.  It seems to me that this aspect of the shot would be emphasised better in black & white, so I’ve also posted this version:

In this version I have also increased the contrast and sharpened the image slightly to emphasise the shapes and structures.  Still not sure which one I prefer…

14 Comments leave one →
  1. Rhemzis permalink
    18/01/2012 1:58 pm

    Both are great shots but I am more inclined to like the first one..Nice hue there..

  2. 18/01/2012 2:18 pm

    I think I prefer the hint of pink – while I love the contrast in the B&W – something about the softer pink draws me in! Guess that is one of the great things with photography – how each photo can speak to you! On a different day, with a different mood, I could have the opposite feeling! Regardless – they are both quite nice!

    • 18/01/2012 5:40 pm

      Thank you Anita. I agree the b & w version has better contrast; but oddly, looking at the shots again, the definition of the smaller branches is better in the colour shot.

  3. 18/01/2012 5:28 pm

    The black and white one edges it for me – more dramatic!

    • 18/01/2012 5:35 pm

      Thank you for the feedback – still can’t make my mind up however; maybe they are different but equal!

  4. 18/01/2012 7:24 pm

    Pink for me, I have a passion for winter trees.

    • 18/01/2012 8:21 pm

      Thank you. I love the infinite complexity and beauty of trees, the patterns and shapes of the branches…

  5. 21/01/2012 12:16 am

    Amazing how the same image can be so different! Maybe that’s why I still after looking a long time – like them both very much 😉

    • 21/01/2012 9:04 pm

      Thanks – at the moment I think I prefer the colour version, but….

  6. 21/01/2012 10:50 am

    Boy you’re posting some good stuff! I can certainly see why you’re attracted to these trees – but I think both shots are good, I like them both.

    I think I can also see another photo, dead center of the shot – a closer look at those quite thick, wonderfully intertwined branches at the center of the second tree from the left. Good photos! Adrian

    • 21/01/2012 8:44 pm

      Thank you Adrian. At the moment I slightly prefer the colour version – but tomorrow I may switch my preference! I will experiment with a tight crop on the middle tree – if I can make something of it, I may well post it.

  7. 24/01/2012 4:55 am

    I’m all about the B&W, but you’ve really thrown me for a loop on this one. I may actually like the color better, the structures are visible and dramatic, but the color lends is a bit of warmth and possibly even better definition.

    Overall excellent job! For B&W I think I would get in closer and just get one or two trees. Otherwise you lose too much definition and things get too busy, the color softens the busy-ness and makes it more inviting.

    • 25/01/2012 11:16 am

      Thanks – I agree, I think you’ve hit the nail on the head. The definition seems better in the colour shot.

Leave a Reply

