Skip to content

Westonbirt – white tree

04/01/2012

I took this shot using the very basic zoom function on my camera, at 18 x optical zoom.  The cameral wassn’t really up to it, but I like the effect.  More luck than judgement, I have to admit.  Levels and contrast adjusted slightly in Photoshop, and a bit of cropping…

18 Comments leave one →
  1. 04/01/2012 5:34 pm

    I love it. It looks like a beautiful chalk drawing. I really like the effect.

    • 04/01/2012 6:44 pm

      Thank you. This shot worked much better than I expected, and I’ll happily take that!

  2. 04/01/2012 6:16 pm

    very cool. One of the things my photography teacher told me was to learn the limitations of my camera, then exploit those limitations. I love this.

    • 04/01/2012 6:43 pm

      Thank you Corianne – that sounds like good advice, and very useful because my camera has a LOT of limitations!

  3. 05/01/2012 3:28 pm

    I think this is just wonderful, Graham. There’s a softness to it that really looks nice, and kind of dreamy too. Love the lighting in this. Really a nice picture. 🙂

    • 05/01/2012 8:36 pm

      Thanks Katie. I agree that it looks kind of dream-like – or possibly ghosty?

  4. 05/01/2012 11:41 pm

    I like the soft look and the colors, nice abstract, Graham!

  5. 06/01/2012 6:10 am

    I really love the effect. You could also do this my moving your camera slightly as you shoot or try depressing the shutter while zooming in or out. You have a winner here; one that you should try and duplicate!! Very nice Graham.

    • 07/01/2012 9:18 pm

      Thanks Mike, I’m pleased you like it. In fact I often use the moving camera technique, I often make abstract shots in this way.

  6. 07/01/2012 5:51 pm

    Graham, this photo just brought an instant exclamation from me!!! I love that! It could be cropped a little tighter maybe, but its a wonderful shot – I’m envious! Adrian

    • 07/01/2012 9:16 pm

      Thanks Adrian. I have already cropped the shot quite a lot, but I will experiment further with the original. My thinking was to balance the styrangeness of the effect with making the shot recognisably a tree – but cropping to make the shot more abstract could be interesting.

  7. 09/01/2012 5:17 am

    Love the effect – very creative indeed.

  8. 15/01/2012 5:44 pm

    Well done, Graham, nice mood, lines, and feel all rolled together.

  9. 17/01/2012 5:32 am

    Nearly a fortnight late am I in coming to visit you. I apologise. (But such a reward so often awaits me here.)

Leave a Reply

