Skip to content

Photoshop experiment

05/05/2011

In the past I have made minimal use of Photoshop – most images are cropped slightly, sometimes I use the Quick Fix facility and adjust the contrast.  So, I thought I should try to explore the technology a bit more and try to learn a few editing techniques.

This is the first time I’ve used the clone stamp tool.  I took the photograph of the dead leaf because it seemed a paradox – it’swarm and sunny, and it’s Spring but I this was a few square inches of Autumn.  As often happens, I hadn’t realised how much the blades of grass lying across the leaf spoiled the image.  So I tidied it up…

As always, constructive comment / criticism is welcome.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. 05/05/2011 12:58 pm

    That’s a good job of the clone stamp tool :)I wouldn’t have been able to tell that it had been photoshopped. There is just one blade of grass I can see that starts from nowhere on the right of the leaf, but I didn’t notice it at first look. I have been trying to test the spot healing and clone tools recently and have found that they have worked well in most instances.

    • 05/05/2011 3:26 pm

      Thanks Helen – I think it will be worthwhile to keep trying to master the techniques. Just trying to get to grips with Adjustment Layers at the moment..

  2. 06/05/2011 3:27 am

    Hi Graham.

    Great Job!

    Sometimes photoshopping can be good thing. Today, I discovered an abstract within a photo I took that I never would have seen unless I was exploring the possibilities. I am a fan so “shop” away. Inevitably, the purpose is to find what it is that you like because your photos are about your vision.

    I, like Helen, also noticed the blade of grass that had been cut off. This blade might look more natural had you cut it off right at the edge of the leaf.

    Overall, I like what you did with the clone tool. When I use it, I generally use samplings from all over the area so that it doesn’t look like a pattern. This is something that I learned the hard way! 🙂

    If you haven’t explored it yet, I urge you to check out the healing brushes. They are the best tool ever made as far as I’m concerned.

    • 06/05/2011 8:21 am

      Thank you Mike. I will persevere!

      I’m a bit irritated with myself for missing that blade of grass – although I won’t use the shot again, I will go back and put this right.

      And thanks for the advice about the healing brush – haven’t tried it yet.

  3. 06/05/2011 7:36 am

    That’s a very nice edit!

    • 06/05/2011 10:04 am

      Thanks Kala – it needs a bit more work, but I’m happy with it as a first effort.

Leave a Reply

